Skip Navigation Links
Our School
News & Events
Staff & Curriculum
Our Learning Community
Parents Zone
Photo Gallery
Pupil Zone
Curriculum Levels
You are here: A Curriculum for Excellence > Curriculum Levels

Curriculum levels

The table below is a general guide to the five curriculum levels with progression to qualifications. The framework is designed to be flexible to permit careful planning for those with additional support needs, including those who have a learning difficulty and those who are particularly able or talented.

Level Stage
Early The pre-school years and P1, or later for some.
First To the end of P4, but earlier or later for some.
Second To the end of P7, but earlier or later for some.
Third and Fourth

S1 to S3, but earlier for some. The fourth level broadly equates to Scottish Credit and Qualifications Framework level 4.

The fourth level experiences and outcomes are intended to provide possibilities for choice and young people's programmes will not include all of the fourth level outcomes.

Senior phase S4 to S6, and college or other means of study.

The senior phase is is for young people aged 15 - 18. All young people can continue to expect to gain knowledge and skills, whatever their individual needs and wherever they are learning.

Young people approaching the senior phase will have a range of options, including staying on at school, going to college or university, entering work-based learning or community-based learning, volunteering or a combination of these. These options all offer the chance to study for qualifications and work on the skills they need to get on in life, whatever they choose to do.